Welsh Ski Squad

Achieving the highest standards in ski racing is recognised in Wales by selection in the first instance to one of our representative Welsh Ski Squads. Selection to the Welsh Squad forms part of the Alpine Development Pathway with next steps being selection to GB national teams and status.



– to be considered for Welsh selection racers must:

  1. Be eligible under the following Welsh National Criteria
    * be born in Wales
    * have one parent or grand parent born in Wales
    * be resident in Wales for the last three years
  2. Be registered with the National Coaching Scheme as Welsh.
  3. Indicate that they are available to represent Wales for a twelve month period minimum after selection.
  4. Selection – Skiers may apply to be selected annually to the Welsh National Squad by the selectors , appointed by the Snowsport Wales following a squad selection. It is necessary to be eligible for selection by way of a seedpoint base line entry level. Skiers will then be selected from these eligible based upon technical ability, fitness, competition results and commitment to competition and training. Skiers selection can also be withdrawn if they fail to maintain an effective programme and commitment.

Welsh Ski Team and Academy Selection Criteria is set out in the document below (updated January 2023)

The skiers selected to the squads for 2023 are as follows:

Wales Elite Team

Giselle Gorringe
Rebecca Hart
Heather Helsop
Erin Higgins
Georgia Hyett
Elin Jones
Ffion Lewis
Tom Butterworth
Alex Davies
Edouard Guigonnet
Geno Hounsham
Adam Lee
Joshua Price

Wales Ski Squad

Alice Bond
Molly Chisholm
Agatha Favill
Saskia Henry-Davies
Manon Higgins
Lowri Howie
Juliette Martin
Martha Newell
Scarlett Winter
Tallulah Winter
Chay Bonnington
Joseph Compton
John Erskine
Josef Feiven
Harri Hodson
Steffan Hodson
Matthew Ingle
Harri Jones
Rob Jones
Aled Phillips – New Selection
Xavier Poynton
Cameron Pye
Oliver Radcliffe
Ben Sharples
Jack Shephard
Charlie Silvester
Owen Young

Wales Ski Development Group – Selection Group Status 2023

Charlie Wilberforce Marsh
Louis Barclay
Hari Rowlands
Toby White


1. Achieve Platinum level at a club organised NSA event where a forerunner time is used to establish target time (using a sub 50pt forerunner)
2. Meet the following age related points criteria as per the most recent published British OBARTs or IBARTS seedlist,
U14 yr1 150pts or below
U14 yr2 140pts or below
U16 yr1 130pts or below
U16 yr2 120pts or below
U18 yr1 110pts or below
U18 yr2 100pts or below

Want to get involved?

Excited by the prospect of Winter Sports? Get along to one of the slopes or clubs in Wales…